Community Advisory Board

New York Public Radio’s Community Advisory Board

We’re a diverse volunteer group of radio lovers with a shared goal: support the future of New York Public Radio (NYPR). 

Our mission:

To provide meaningful feedback about NYPR’s programming and policies directly to the stations.

As a group, we represent the diverse needs and interests of the communities NYPR serves. 

We call ourselves an Advisory board because we gather feedback—we advise the station of what listeners have to say. (The CAB does not exercise control over the daily management or operation of the station. CAB requirements are part of an overall set of the station’s statutory obligations.*)

Our members:

From different boroughs, backgrounds, and a wide range of professions, ages, and preferred ways of listening.  We promise a spirited and supported discussion each meeting.

Our structure:

The CAB can have up to 25 members at a time. Members are selected for one three-year term, and are encouraged to attend meetings afterward. 

Our meetings:

We gather monthly, with the exception of July, August, and January.

Meetings last two hours and are town-hall style. The first hour, we hear from a special guest from the station. The second hour is reserved for public feedback and conversation. 

Detailed minutes go directly to the station and are shared publicly on this page.

Our recruitment:

We accept applications online each Spring when membership opportunities become available. Members are chosen by a joint committee of CAB members, and accepted by the Board of Trustees and the CAB. Application for 2017 has closed.


*The CAB, as required by federal law, reviews the programming goals established by the station, the service provided by WNYC and WQXR, and the significant policy decisions rendered by the station, and assesses whether the programming and other policies of the station are meeting the specialized educational and cultural needs of the communities served by the station.  The CAB deliberates independently of station management and New York Public Radio's Board of Trustees, determining its own agenda and electing its own leadership. The CAB is an advisory body only, and is not authorized to exercise any control over WNYC and WQXR's daily management or operations. The CAB conveys its findings and recommendations based on public input to the Board of Trustees.

Follow the Community Advisory Board on Facebook 


Community Advisory Board 2016-2017 Calendar

Tuesday, September 6, 2016



Location: The Jerome L. Greene Space - 44 Charlton Street, New York, NY

Speaker: Delaney Simmons, Social Media Director

Thursday, October 6, 2016


Location: NYU Silver Center for the Arts and Sciences, Room 414 (100 Washington Square East / 33 Washington Place - entrance on Washington Place) 

Speaker: Matt Abramovitz, Program Director, WQXR

Monday, November 7, 2016




Location: The Jerome L. Greene Space - 44 Charlton Street, New York, NY

Speaker: Laura Walker, President & CEO, New York Public Radio

Monday, January 23, 2017


Location: The Jerome L. Greene Space - 44 Charlton Street, New York, NY

Speakers: Jennifer Keeney Sendrow, Executive Producer, The Greene Space 

February  2016 No Meeting Scheduled
Monday, March 13, 2017


Location: The Jerome L. Greene Space - 44 Charlton Street, New York, NY

Speaker:  Dean Cappello, Executive Vice President & Chief Content Officer

Tuesday, April 4, 2017

(CAB Application Deadline: TBD)              


Location: 31 Washington Place, Room 620 (NYU Silver Center for the Arts and Sciences) 

Speaker: Kathleen Drohan, Director, WQXR Musical Instrument Drive
Tuesday, May 2, 2017


Location: The Jerome L. Greene Space - 44 Charlton Street, New York, NY

Speaker:  John Chao, SVP, Business Development & Strategy

Tuesday, June 6, 2017


Location: The Jerome L. Greene Space - 44 Charlton Street, New York, NY

Speaker:  Leonard Lopate, Host


Community Advisory Board (CAB) as of June 2016:                      

Lue Ann Eldar, elected as Chair June 2016, appointed to the CAB August 2012

Vice Chairs:
Grace Clarke, elected as Vice Chair June 2016, appointed to the CAB June 2015
Barbara Gerolimatos, elected as Vice Chair June 2016, appointed CAB June 2014
Merwin Kinkade, elected as Vice Chair June 2016, appointed to the CAB June 2014
Nancy Walcott, elected as Vice Chair June 2015, appointed to the CAB June 2015

Raesha Cartagena, elected as Secretary June 2016, appointed to the CAB June 2015

Anita Aboulafia, appointed August 2013
John Bacon, appointed August 2013
Chad Bascombe, appointed June 2015
Gary Brocks, appointed August 2013
Lisa Buffa, appointed June 2016
Carole Chervin, appointed June 2015
Judith Cholst, appointed December 2011
Andrew S. Greene, appointed August 2013
Stan Ince, appointed June 2016
Peter Kentros, appointed June 2016
Carmina Lu, appointed June 2015
Lisa Nearier, appointed June 2016
Samantha "Sam" Pedreiro, appointed June 2016
Steven Rapkin, appointed December 2011
Theodore Schweitzer, appointed August 2013
Kathryn Tornelli, appointed June 2016
David N. Sztyk, appointed August 2013

Adam Wasserman, appointed June 2014
Jacob Wojnas, appointed June 2016


Recent CAB Minutes:

January 2017

November 2016

October 2016

September 2016

May 2016

April 2016

March 2016

January 2016

November 2015

October 2015

September 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013 - no CAB meeting
November 2013

October 2013
September 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013

February 2013
January 2013

December 2012 - no CAB meeting
November 2012

October 2012
September 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012

November 2011

September 2011

May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
December 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
November 2009
October 2009
September 2009
May 2009
April 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
November 2008
May 2008
February 2008
January 2008
November 2007
October 2007
May 2007
April 2007
February 2007
January 2007
November 2006
October 2006
September 2006
May 2006
April 2006
March 2006
January 2006
October 2005
September 2005
May 2005
April 2005
February 2005
January 2005