Miguelina "Erikka" Diaz

Hi, my name is Erikka Diaz. I'm 18-years-old and I was born in downtown Manhattan. I'm interested in music. I spend most of my time with my family and friends. I enjoy making them happy and attending parties. My plans for the future are to continue with my education and graduate from college.

I live in the South Bronx. I love the atmosphere even though it has its down sides. I wouldn't change it or anything because it's where I hold my childhood memories. When I was a kid, every summer my neighborhood would have block parties. I would spend most of the time with close friends and family dancing to loud music and eating from musical ice cream trucks. I love the South Bronx.

One interesting fact about me is the fact that I can play guitar and my favorite song to play is "Happy Birthday." Whenever it's one of my loved ones' birthdays I play it for them and they love it. I love my guitar. (October 2009) 

Recorder: Michelle
My recorder's name is Michelle, because in Spanish my name is Miguelina. My recorder can hear very well from a distance, it can stop and play, and it also brings me bravery. I feel brave when I carry it. It gives me the courage to approach a random person and ask questions. 

(Note: Each Rookie named his/her equipment as a way to feel more at ease with the technology.)

Miguelina "Erikka" Diaz appears in the following:

Money Stress

Monday, October 05, 2009

Erikka Diaz, like many of her neighbors in South Bronx, has lived in poverty her whole life. Her family knows the anxiety that comes with constantly having to scrape money together.

Comments [2]

To Vote or Not to Vote

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

In the South Bronx, where Miguelina "Erikka" Diaz lives, she's heard a lot of people complain about the government.