New York Philharmonic This Week

A Dancer's Dream: Two Works by Stravinsky

Thursday, August 29, 2013

The New York Philharmonic, under the direction of Alan Gilbert performs "A Dancer’s Dream: Two Works by Stravinsky," a multidisciplinary, reimagining of Stravinsky’s ballets The Fairy’s Kiss and Petrushka. New York City Ballet principal dancer Sara Mearns stars in the production created by Giants Are Small, the creative team behind "Le Grand Macabre" and "The Cunning Little Vixen."


Fishko Files

The Rite of Spring

Thursday, May 23, 2013

WNYC’s Sara Fishko has been sifting through endless recordings and recollections of Stravinksy’s The Rite of Spring. As we work our way up to its celebrated centenary on May 29th, some recommendations for listening…in this edition of Fishko Files.

Watch Live at 7PM ET: 'The Rite Of Spring' Goes Solo



‘The Rite of Spring’ Turns 100, And Goes Solo

Monday, May 13, 2013

The Detroit Symphony Orchestra's Leonard Slatkin on the groundbreaking, riot-inducing composition 'The Rite of Spring' at its centennial. And details on how we're marking the occasion with a rare solo piano performance -- you can be there too!


Conducting Business

100 Years After Stravinsky's 'Rite,' Can Classical Music Still Shock?

Monday, April 29, 2013

The Rite of Spring is practically an audience favorite and rioting in concert halls is unthinkable. But is this a good thing? Does classical music need more scandal?

Comments [14]

Chamber Music Society

Stravinsky and Françaix

Sunday, December 09, 2012

The lives of Russian Igor Stravinsky and the Frenchman JeanFrançaix overlapped in France during the 1920s and '30s before Stravinsky moved to America. Françaix was born just as Stravinsky was making musical history with his then-scandalous ballet music for the Rite of Spring, and as a student Françaix was undoubtedly influenced by the famous and controversial Russian, says David Finckel, Chamber Music Society co-artistic director.



Star Music Manuscript Collection Faces Sale -- and Possible Departure From New York

Wednesday, May 25, 2011

The Lehman Collection at the Morgan Library, a deposit of nearly 200 original music manuscripts that contains some of the greatest classical works of the 20th Century, is up for sale.

Comments [2]