Alloy Orchestra

New Sounds

New Sounds Live Silent Film Scores

Thursday, March 24, 2011

From the Alloy Orchestra's most recent three-night residency at the World Financial Center this past February, we'll listen to selections from some of their original film scores including Douglas Fairbanks' "The Black Pirate."  The Alloy Orchestra is just an orchestra of three -Terry Donahue, Roger Miller, Ken Winokur- whose instruments include their famous "rack of junk" (scrap metal transformed into percussion) together with electronic synthesizers and more.  We'll hear their original scores for the 1920 Buster Keaton film, "One Week"  and the 1917 Chaplin film, "Easy Street," and more.

Comments [1]

New Sounds Live

New Sounds Live: Silent Films with New Music by Alloy Orchestra

Friday, January 14, 2011


Experience original scores by the Alloy Orchestra to classic silent films as part of the New Sounds Live concert series on February 2, 3 & 4th, 2011, each night at 7PM at the World Financial Center's Winter Garden. There are three nights of silents to be heard and seen - Harold Lloyd's “Speedy,” Douglas Fairbanks’ “The Black Pirate,” and a trio of comedic shorts; including a Chaplin film, a Buster Keaton film, and a "Fatty" Arbuckle classic.

Read More