#3568: Percussive Roots, New Routes

Email a Friend
Glenn Kotche

For this New Sounds program, hear musical works that begin with a percussive idea, maybe even a traditional one, but then end up someplace else. Listen to a work by drummer/composer Dosh (probably better known as Andrew Bird’s collaborator for the past many years), who is also a multi-instrumentalist and a looper, besides.  From his 2013 release, “Milk Money,” sample a bit of the expansive, pulsing layers of keyboard, vocal samples, and drums on Dosh’s “Legos (for Terry).” There’s also tropical jazz pop from the Danish artist Frisk Frugt (aka Anders Lauge Meldgaard) which marries folk marimba, electric guitar and toy horns, with the results emerging like a sonic road-trip to Burkina Faso by way of Denmark after having picked up a hitchhiking Terry Riley.

Then, hear music from the late pioneering Cuban composer Juan Blanco, incorporating two drummers (congas and timbales) and electronics. Plus, from Glenn Kotche's forthcoming record, “Adventureland,” sneak a listen to some music for "two pianos vs. percussion" in his multi-movement work, “The Haunted.” [SEE Glenn Kotche with Victoire at Carnegie Hall’s Zankel Hall this Saturday night, Feb. 22, 6PM, as part of the 2014 Ecstatic Music Festival.]

PROGRAM #3568 Percussive Roots, New Routes (First aired on 2/20/2014)  






Milk Money

Legos (for Terry), excerpt [12:43]

Graveface Records GRAVE102

Frisk Frugt

Dansktoppen Møder Burkina Faso i det Himmelblå rum Hvor Solen bor, Suite

Biodynamisk Æblejuice Bringer Solen Indenfor Om Vinteren [5:01]

Exotic Pylon EP20


Juan Blanco

Nuestro Tiempo (Our Time)

Cirkus Toccata [12:50]

Innova 248

Powerplant (Joby Burgess)

Powerplant: Electric Counterpoint

Reich: Electric Counterpoint - I Fast (arr. Burgess) [6:51]

Signum SIGCD143

Glenn Kotche

with Lisa Kaplan and Yvonne Lam, piano | Doug Perkins, Matthew Duvall - percussion


The Haunted Viaduct [5:49]

Canteloupe Records

Due out March 25, 2014
Pre-order bangonacan.org

Bill Alves / Susan Jensen, violin HMC American Gamelan

Mystic Canyon

Concerto for Violin and Gamelan, Mvmt 2, excerpt [6:45]

Microfest Records

Available at iTunes, Amazon, and CDBaby.com