#3720: New Releases, April 2015

Email a Friend

The skies are clearing, the parks are filling up with smiling sunbathers and kids are playing in the fountains. It's springtime. It's also the end of April, which means John Schaefer has a new hand-picked crop of some of the most interesting music that has crossed our desks this month. Despite all the cheer outside, lovers of darkness have no reason to fear. This month brought us brooding and mysterious work from musicians familiar to New Sounds listeners, as well as some burgeoning new collaborations.

Before the show delves too far into the dark side, enjoy the peaceful "Lines" from Italian guitarist Pino Forrestiere. Then, hear generation-spanning collaboration of German drummers Jaki Liebezeit of CAN and Holger Mertin. Next, Ben Frost brings his own brand of dark, gritty ambient music with "Rare Decay," a bonus track from the Japanese release of his album A U R O R A. Spin Marvel is a new collaboration, but with a familiar warped trumpet sound from the Nils Petter Molvaer. This episode features "Leap Second" off of their haunting new release, Infolding. Then listen to an excerpt of Paola Prestini's grand theatrical composition Labyrinth. Finally, French pianist Eve Risser tricks out her piano to extract atmosphere and texture that we don't normally hear from the instrument.

PROGRAM #3720 New Releases, April 2015 (First aired on 4/30/2015)  





Ben Frost

A U R O R A (Japan Release)

Rare Decay [excerpt] [:58]

Traffic Inc. – TRCP 162

Pino Forastiere


Lines [5:38]


Jaki Liebezeit & Holger Mertin


Surfangel [9:04]

Staubgold – STAUB 139

Ben Frost

A U R O R A (Japan Release)

Rare Decay [6:39]

See Above

Spin Marvel


Leap Second

RareNoise Records - #RNR 049

Cornelius Dufallo


Paola Prestini: House of Solitude [excerpt] [8:16]

VIA Records

Eve Risser

Des Pas Sur La Neige

La Neige Sur La Ville [7:58]

Clean Feed – CF323CD