The Lasker Awards Honor the Best in Science Education and Research

Email a Friend
Dr. Ralf Bartenschlager was among two scientists to receive the Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award.

Three Lasker laureates —William Kaelin, Jr., Dr. Ralf Bartenschlager, and Bruce Alberts— discuss their achievements in science education, research and medicine. Kaelin shares the Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award with two other scientists for their work in illustrating the cellular path by which the majority of animals respond to changes in oxygen levels. Dr. Bartenschlager, a virologist at the University of Heidelberg in Germany, is one of two scientists to receive the Lasker/DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award for researching Hepatitis C. Alberts, a biochemist at the University of California, San Francisco, received the Lasker-Koshland Award, for his discoveries in DNA replication and protein biochemistry and for his work in improving science and mathematics education.