Guillermo Klein: Live At Berklee

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Composer and bandleader Guillermo Klein is known largely for Los Guachos, a large ensemble which draws from Argentine folk forms, the New York jazz talent pool and a postmodern mash-up imagination. His is beguiling music, filled with human voices and off-kilter meter and cutting melody. It's a form he and some of his band first started developing at Berklee College of Music, where he and fellow Argentines learned to apply jazz concepts to the many sounds in their heads.

A core group of Los Guachos heads to Berklee to workshop and perform with student musicians in the next installation of The Checkout: Live. WBGO and NPR Music presented a live broadcast and online video webcast of Guillermo Klein's ensemble.

Set List

Compositions by Guillermo Klein unless otherwise noted.

  • "Velez"
  • "Magalí" (Richard Nant)
  • "Domus"
  • "Llorando Fuerte"
  • "Miula"
  • "A Los Que Estan"
  • "Child's Play" (Jeff Ballard)
  • Guillermo Klein, piano/voice
  • Bill McHenry, saxophone
  • Richard Nant, trumpet
  • Fernando Huergo, bass
  • Jeff Ballard, drums
  • Erena Terakubo, saxophone
  • Edmar Colón, saxophone
  • Paul Melhus, saxophone
  • Paul Sánchez Pacheco, trumpet
  • Balam García, guitar
  • Santiago Bosch, piano
  • Tiago Michelin, drums
  • Song Yi Jeon, voice
  • Juana Aquerreta, voice
Copyright 2014 WBGO-FM. To see more, visit

Source: NPR


News, weather, Radiolab, Brian Lehrer and more.
Get the best of WNYC in your inbox, every morning.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.