Concert by the Society for Forgotten Music Quartet

Email a Friend

This episode is from the WNYC archives. It may contain language which is no longer politically or socially appropriate.

David Randolph hosts the concert from the Music School Settlement of East 3rd Street, Manhattan.

Works by Henry Hadley, Alexander Reinagle, Francis Hopkinson, Charles Martin Loeffler, Horatio Parker (from his opera "Mona"), George Whitefield Chadwick.

The Society for Forgotten Music Quartet:
Harry Zarief, first violinist
David Mankowitz, second violinist
William Shawn, violist
Maurice Bialkin, cellist
Shirley Reisman, pianist
Vladimir Dukelsky and Joan Bishop, mezzo soprano

Rundown: Quartet Opes 132 by Henry Hadley
Piano Sonata in E Major by Alexander Reinagle
I Have a Silent Sorrow Here by Reinagle
My Days Have Been So Wondrous Free by Francis Hopkinson
Come Fair Rosina by Hopkinson
O'er The Hills by Hopkinson
To Helen by Charles Martin Loeffler, words by Edgar Allan Poe
"Mona's Dream" by Horatio Parker from the opera "Mona"
Quartet by George Whitefield Chadwick

Audio courtesy of the NYC Municipal Archives WNYC Collection

WNYC archives id: 72571
Municipal archives id: LT3841