The Raga Saga

A 12-Part Webisode Documentary Series

Thursday, January 22, 2009

On January 31, WNYC broadcasts the world premiere of Ravi Shankar's third Concerto for Sitar and Orchestra live from Carnegie Hall, featuring Anoushka Shankar and the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra. In a first-of-its-kind project, filmmakers Chris and Alex Browne document the passion, chaos, and excitement of the collaboration between Ravi, Anoushka and the Orpheus musicians—both on and off the stage—providing viewers with an inside look at what it takes to create and refine a finished product for the world to hear.

Today's webisode of "The Raga Saga"
(additional webisodes are posted daily through February 1)
Learn more about the Orpheus Raga Project

Related Links:
More about WNYC's live broadcast
Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
Anoushka Shankar
Ravi Shankar

Special Feature:
Anoushka Shankar and the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra give an open rehearsal of Ravi Shankar's third Concerto for Sitar and Orchestra at the Asia Society. Watch the Video

More in:

News, weather, Radiolab, Brian Lehrer and more.
Get the best of WNYC in your inbox, every morning.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.



Supported by