Episode #3079

Look & Listen Festival 2010

« previous episode | next episode »

Friday, May 21, 2010

From the Look & Listen Festival at the Chelsea Art Museum, two acoustic works by composers who often work in electronic music. The JACK Quartet plays the NY premiere of “Contritus” by Caleb Burhans; and eighth blackbird performs “Still Life with Avalanche” by Missy Mazzoli. 



PROGRAM # 3079, Look and Listen Festival 2010 (First aired on 5/21/2010)





JACK Quartet

Look & Listen Festival, May 7, 2010

Caleb Burhans: Contritus [17:37]

This performance not commercially available.

Eighth Blackbird

Missy Mazzoli -Still Life with Avalanche [13:00]

This performance not commercially available.

JACK Quartet

Hannah Lash : Frayed [13:00]

This performance not commercially available. Info about the composer at:

Jade Simmons

John Corigliano: Etude Fantasy, excerpt [4:00]

This performance not commercially available. Info about the performer at

News, weather, Radiolab, Brian Lehrer and more.
Get the best of WNYC in your inbox, every morning.

Comments [1]

New Sounds Listener from Berlin

Probably one of my favorites of Burhans so far. Really good stuff. Somehow the final looping fadeout section didn't work so well for me. Maybe if there had been an actual thinning out of texture as well I would have appreciated liked it more.
I was also really blown away by the sound of the opening of Mazzoli's. The first two explosions in the stillness I felt we're especially effective; somehow the third explosion was either too weak or too early. I guess I would have wished that the third explosion was a little less predictable. I also felt like I wished I got to hear more of that wonderful tension from the opening bars. I felt like the music also too quickly lapsed into consonant harmonies in the opening . Only my first reactions though. Otherwise I really enjoyed the work, really good stuff.

May. 26 2010 06:12 PM

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.