Episode #2766

Voices of Eastern Europe

« previous episode | next episode »

Sunday, January 31, 2010

Hear music by Czech vocalist/violinist/composer Iva Bittova and Poland's Mieczyslaw Litwinski on this edition of New Sounds. There's also music from Ukraine's Mariana Sadovska with the choir Kitka off of the phenomenal record "The Rusalka Cycle," and Ingram Marshall's orchestral work incorporating the sounds of Balkan funeral laments.
PROGRAM #2766, Voices of Eastern Europe (First aired on Tuesday, 2-12-08)





Mieczyslaw Litwinski

Private tape

Two Suns [9:00]

Private tape, not commercially available. Litwinski's site

Mariana Sadovska


It’s Been So Long, So Long [6:00]

Privately released. Info at

Iva Bittova

Iva Bittova

River of Milk [4:30]

Nonesuch #79455***



Dostojno Jest [4:30]

Diaphonica #2004

Ingram Marshall

Kingdom Come

Kingdom Come, excerpt [13:00]

Nonesuch #79613*

Iva Bittova

Iva Bittova

Before [5:30]

See above.

Mariana Sadovska & Kitka

The Rusalka Cycle

River Rose [2:30]

Diaphonica #20071

News, weather, Radiolab, Brian Lehrer and more.
Get the best of WNYC in your inbox, every morning.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.