Concert Works From the Clubs

Tim Brady and the five member Brisbane, Australia-based group Topology share a passion for the intimacy and immediacy of small ensemble music and getting on stage and playing it like there’s no tomorrow. For this New Sounds, we’ll listen to some of “SCAT,” Brady’s rhythmic, jazz-influenced chamber work which also features the speaking voices of the Topology musicians, who each scat their life stories in 30 seconds in the final movement. Also, we’ll hear from composer, virtuoso guitarist, and computer programmer Nick Didkovsky, and his most recent release, “Ice Cream Time.” Plus, Jonny Greenwood’s score from the film “There Will Be Blood.” Incidentally, multi-instrumentalist Greenwood’s long-time side project happens to be a little band called Radiohead, in which he plays guitar.

PROGRAM #2751, Chamber & Orchestral Music (First aired on Thursday, 1/3/08)





Tim Brady

Topology: Scat

Lightning Field – Darkness / Illumination [17:00]

Actuelle #164*

Steven Mackey

Tuck And Roll

Puffe [8:00]

BMG #63826 ** *

Jonny Greenwood

There Will Be Blood

Henry Plainview [4:00]
Proven Lands [2:00]
Prospectors Quartet [3:00]

Nonesuch #369020**

Nick Didkovsky

Ice Cream Time

Rise [12:00]

New World #80667***