New Releases July 2009

It's the most wonderful time of the month - the showcasing of new releases! On this New Sounds program, listen to the pick of the piles, the cream of the crop. We'll separate the wheat from the chaff. There's music from Jon Balke and the Moroccan singer Amina Alaoui, along with new music from the Vijay Iyer Trio, perhaps something from A Hawk and a Hacksaw. Plus, a film score by Rob Burger, some Ethio-pop from Fool's Gold, and solo piano music by Rachel Grimes. And more!

PROGRAM # 2967, New Releases July 2009 (First aired on July 31, 2009)





Jon Balke / Amina Alaoui / Baroque Soloists


Thulathiyat [10:04]

ECM 2042

Fool’s Gold

Fool’s Gold

Nadine [5:49]

IamSound Records
Due out 9/29/09

Susan McKeown & Lorin Sklambeg

Saints & Tzadiks

The Rattlin’ Bog [3:20]

World Village 468089

A Hawk And A Hacksaw


Foni tu Argile [3:53]

Leaf Label Bay 64CD

Vijay Iyer


MIA: Galang [Trio Riot Version] [2:41]

ACT 9489

In the Country


Ursa Major [9:44]

Rune Grammofon 2086

Dave Flynn

Contemporary Traditional Irish Guitar

The Mahatma of the Glen, excerpt [5:00]

Frisbee Records 002

Robert Burger

City of Strangers

Dimished Capacity [1:47]

Tzadik 7519

Rachel Grimes

Book of Leaves, for solo piano

Long Before Us [1:24]

Will be released 9/22/09 on Karate Body Records