New Concert Music

For this New Sounds, we'll hear from the Kronos Quartet's brand new release "Floodplain." This record is full of music from Serbia, Azerbajan, Iran, Iraq, Turkey, and Lebanon, incorporating other sounds, live and taped. Not to be outdone, violist and host of WNYC's weekday Overnight Music Nadia Sirota just released a record of newly commissioned works by Judd Greenstein, Nico Muhly and other new music heavy-hitters involving her instrument and other sounds, called "First Things First." We'll hear from that and Valentin Silvestrov's "Ikon" performed by the Cailino Quartet, and more.

PROGRAM # 2933 Works for String Quartet and Other Strings (First aired on Wed. 5/6/09)





Kronos Quartet


Nihavent Sirto, excerpt [1:30]
Vribilov: ...hold me, neighbor, in this storm [21:30]

Nonesuch 518349

Nadia Sirota & the Chiara String Quartet

First Things First

Greenstein: The Night Gatherers [13:00]

New Amsterdam nwam016

Callino Quartet (Louth Contemporary Music Society)

A Place Between

Silvestrov: Ikon [4:30]

LCMS 901

Kronos Quartet


Lullaby [4:00] Nihavent Sirto [3:00]

See above.