A Brazilian Experiment

Listen to music by a Brazilian original, the multi-instrumentalist and composer (and eccentric) Hermeto Pascoal, who blurs barriers between jazz, improvisation, folkloric, ethnic, Brazilian music, tone and noise. For this edition of the show we’ll hear two New Sounds Live performances of Pascoal’s music: one by the Manhattan Marimba Quartet and one by the Bang On A Can All-Stars. We’ll also hear other experimental music from Brazil including Uakti, who perform their music on a collection of instruments they designed and built. Plus, guitarist/composers Egberto Gismonti and Caetano Veloso mix socio-political messages into their instrumental and vocal works respectively.

PROGRAM #2522, New Music From Brazil (First aired on Wed., 3/15/06)






I Ching

The Turning Point [7:00]

Point #442037, out of print, but try Amazon.com or E-bay



Arrumacao [5:30]

Point #454056 www.iclassics.com

Manhattan Marimba Quartet & John Arrucci

NS Live, Merkin Hall, 10/88

Hermeto Pascoal: Suite North South East West [5:00]
Sao Jorge [3:30]

Not commercially available.

Bang on a Can All-Stars

Live Merkin Hall, 2/06

Hermeto Pascoal: Arupua [8:00]

Not commercially available.

Caetano Veloso


O Estrangeiro [6:00]

Nonesuch #60898 ** www.nonesuch.com

Egberto Gismonti

Danças Dos Escravos

Dança Dos Escravos, excerpt [10:00]

ECM #1387 www.ecmrecords.com