Episode #121

Akhnaten-The Undead

« previous episode | next episode »

Monday, April 04, 1988

The third in a trilogy of operas by Philip Glass, "Akhnaten" is an enigmatic work based on the life of the pharaoh Aknaten and surviving texts from his reign. Like its predecessors, "Einstein on the Beach" and "Satyagraha," it deals with a man whose ideas changed the world. This program presents an hour-long suite of excerpts from this colorful and surprising score. Dennis Russel Davies conducts the Stuttgart State Opera Orchestra and Chorus, and Paul Esswood is the featured soloist.
News, weather, Radiolab, Brian Lehrer and more.
Get the best of WNYC in your inbox, every morning.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.