Music in Suspended Time

Forget about the space-time continuum on this edition of New Sounds. Hear “Birds in Warped Time II” by Somei Satoh, featuring violinist Anne Akiko Meyers rendering the somewhat Japanese-sounding melody, still and spare over the repetitive piano. Also, listen to some of Morton Feldman's late masterpiece "Triadic Memories," slow-moving and mostly quiet piano music, raising awareness of the silence around it as much as it engages with sound. Pianist Louis Goldstein, on performing Triadic Memories, relates that “my own sense of time is stretched and tugged in ways I never before experienced.” Plus American composer Peter Garland’s work, "Walk In Beauty," written for pianist Aki Takahashi. The piece is based on the peyote chants of the American southwest and seems to have captured the sense of suspended time as well.

PROGRAM #2293 Music In Suspended Time (Mon. 6/7/2004)





Peter Garland

Walk In Beauty

Walk In Beauty, excerpt [1:30]

New Albion #052***

Anne Akiko Meyers & Li Jian

Satoh, Debussy, Messiaen, Ravel, Takemitsu

Satoh: Birds In Warped Time II [10:30]

Avie #0024***

Anton Batagov

Morton Feldman: Triadic Memories

Triadic Memories, excerpt [20:00]

Long Arms #03049.
Russian release,

Peter Garland

Walk In Beauty

Sones De Flor [15:00]

See above.

*, ** - Find the recordings you've heard - go to the New Sounds Recordings Information page