Episode #2392

Modern Jazz Pop Chamber Rock

« previous episode | next episode »

Friday, April 07, 2006

The Four Bags, with trombone, accordion, guitar and clarinet or saxophone, are an adventure into chamber music by way of modern jazz, rock and pop. Hear music from their latest release, "Off Shore" on this New Sounds Program, along with the ambient foggy swells of Terje Rypdal and "After the Requiem" by Gavin Bryars. Plus, music from the ambitious new record by the Pat Metheny Group, "The Way Up."

PROGRAM #2392, Works with Electric Guitar (First aired on March 28, 2005)

Pat Metheny Group The Way Up Part Three [16:00] Nonesuch #79876*** OR
The Four Bags Off Shore Ballad [6:00] NCM East #40122 ***
Terje Rypdal Odyssey Adagio [12:00] ECM #1067 / 1068 ***
Gavin Bryars After the Requiem After The Requiem [15:00] ECM #1424***

*, ** - Find the recordings you've heard - go to the New Sounds Recordings Information page

News, weather, Radiolab, Brian Lehrer and more.
Get the best of WNYC in your inbox, every morning.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.