Episode #2275

From the Kitchen Archives

« previous episode | next episode »

Sunday, March 12, 2006

This New Sounds program, titled "New Sound New York", is a special sampler of music celebrating the 25th anniversary of The Kitchen’s landmark concert New Music New York. Hear archive performances from that 1979 event by Philip Glass, Meredith Monk, Michael Nyman, Pauline Oliveros, and more.

PROGRAM # 2275, From The Kitchen Archives, 1979 (Tues. 4-20-04)





Philip Glass

From the Kitchen Archives, New Music New York, 1979

Dance #4 [11:30]

Orange Mountain Music #0015*

Tony Conrad

Untitled Pieces, excerpt [2:00]

Meredith Monk

Do You Be [3:30]

Barbara Benary

Exchanges [8:00]

Michael Nyman

Five Orchestral Pieces for Opus Tree [3:00]

David Behrman

Touch Tones, excerpt [4:30]

Phill Niblock

Four Arthurs Superimposed with Two Octaves and a Fifth, excerpt [3:30]

George Lewis

The Kim And I [5:00]

Pauline Oliveros

The Tuning Meditation [5:30]

*, ** Find the recordings you've heard - go to the New Sounds Recordings Information page

News, weather, Radiolab, Brian Lehrer and more.
Get the best of WNYC in your inbox, every morning.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.