Episode #2487

String Quartet Plus

« previous episode | next episode »

Monday, December 19, 2005

Music for string quartet takes over this New Sounds program with help from additional musical and non-musical sounds. Listen to an “extreme composition” by Brad Lubman for string quartet with electronics called “Jumping to conclusions” – with a neat section acidly titled: “My Art Has No Value.” Also, music from the understated pinhole world of Amina, the string quartet who have toured as Sigur Ros’ texture-makers, and Steve Reich’ seminal “Different Trains,” which uses vintage train sounds from the 1930s and '40s, among other taped material.

PROGRAM #2487, String Quartets Plus (First aired on Monday, 12-19-05)







Fjarskanistan [6:30]

Workers Institute #1 OR

Brad Lubman


Jumping to conclusions: iii. “My Art Has No Value” [4:30]

Tzadik #8017*

Procede Rodesco-Letort

Volume Premier

Bruno Letort: Suite for String Quartet and Diverse Machines [12:00]

Tangram #3026
Also try e-mail

Quatuor Bozzini

Steve Reich: Different Trains

After The War [10:30]

Concordia/QB #0502

Kronos Quartet

Short Stories

Pandit Pran Nath: Aba Kee Tayk Hamaree (It Is My Turn, Oh Lord) [10:00]

Nonesuch #79310 ***

*, ** - Find the recordings you've heard - go to the New Sounds Recordings Information page
News, weather, Radiolab, Brian Lehrer and more.
Get the best of WNYC in your inbox, every morning.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.