Program #2181

To celebrate its 15th anniversary, Bang on a Can mounted a weekend of concerts at Symphony Space last summer. The festivities began with the fifth annual incarnation of its newest program, the People's Commissioning Fund. A large and enthusiastic audience was on hand to hear seven new works, while New Sounds' John Schaefer interviewed the composers between the works. Among the highlights was the piece "Streetwalker" by Irish composer Donnacha Dennehy, commissioned by WNYC for the Bang On A Can All-Stars. Hear this brand-new work and other selections on this edition of New Sounds.

Read more about the Program and more on Dennehy's Streetwalker.

PROGRAM #2181, Premieres from the Bang On A Can All-Stars (First aired Wed., 7-23-03)





Bang On A Can All-Stars

Live, Symphony Space, 6-14-03

Annea Lockwood: Vortex, excerpt [8:30]

None of these pieces are commercially available yet. Check out Bang On A Can's website:

Ingram Marshall: Muddy Waters [10:30]

Donnacha Dennehy: Streetwalker [13:30]

Thurston Moore: Stroking Piece #1 [12:00]

*, ** Find the recordings you've heard - go to the New Sounds Recordings Information page