Episode #1910

Program #1910

« previous episode | next episode »

Saturday, April 19, 2003

"The Seed-At-Zero" is the first ECM album by Robin Williamson, the Scottish founder of the Incredible String Band. In it, Williamson sets poetry by Dylan Thomas to music, and examines Thomas's relationship to the "Bardic tradition" of visionary Welsh poets. One selection from this disc, "Poem On His Birthday" is featured on this edition of New Sounds. The epic piece is based on one of Thomas's most astonishing late creations, written in 1950 when the world seemed to be teetering on the brink of nuclear cataclysm.

PROGRAM # 1910, music inspired by classic poetry (First aired on April 18, 2001)





Robin Williamson

The Seed-At-Zero

Poem On His Birthday [11:30]

ECM #1732**

Van Morrison

Inarticulate Speech of the Heart

Rave On, John Donne [5:00]

Warner Bros #23802**
Available at*

Abed Azrie


Murmur Of The Breeze [5:30]

Nonesuch #79241**

Jennifer Charles and Oren Bloedow

La Mar Enfortunata

Quinze Años [4:00]

Tzadik #7146**

Sussan Deyhim

Madman Of God

Hamcho Farhad [5:30]

Crammed Discs #craw-22.

John Kennedy

One Body

On the Beach at Night Alone [7:00]

SFNM #000512.

Robin Williamson

The Seed-At-Zero

The Seed-At-Zero [7:00]

See above.

*, ** - Find the recordings you've heard - go to the New Sounds Recordings Information page

News, weather, Radiolab, Brian Lehrer and more.
Get the best of WNYC in your inbox, every morning.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.