Program #2103

While Paul Lansky has been known since the early 70s as an exponent of avant-garde computer music, he is not without a playful side. Of his recent Bridge Records collection, Alphabet Book, he writes, "The inspiration came from the TV show, Sesame Street, where the celebration of letters and numbers, those atoms of daily life, is often clothed in lively musical garb." We hear selections from this release, as well as his "Follow Me," performed by the Sap Dream Guitar Quartet at Joe’s Pub. Rounding out the program is a selection from Radiohead's brilliant disc, Kid A.

PROGRAM # 2103, with Paul Lansky (First aired on Thursday, December 12, 2002)





Paul Lansky

Alphabet Book

ABC [8:00]
Um [4:00]
Pattern's Patterns [7:00]

Bridge #9126**

The Sap Dream Electric Guitar Quartet

Live, Joe's Pub 9/25/02

Lansky: Follow Me [5:00]

Not commercially available.

Paul Lansky

Alphabet Book

A Is For... [6:00] Interesting Numbers [6:30]

See above.


Kid A

Idioteque [1:00]

Capitol #27753**

Find the recordings you've heard - go to the New Sounds Recordings Information page