Program #1848

Music from Japan takes center stage on this edition of New Sounds, with a performance by the boundary-bursting pianist Margaret Leng-Tan. She plays a series of excerpts from Hans Otte’s zen-based work, "Stundenbuch," in the WNYC studio. Other works reflect the Japanese love of nature, including Takashi Kako's "Church on the Water," (pictured) Takashi Yoshimatsu's "Bird in Grief," and an excerpt from Toru Takemitsu's ravishing "From me flows what you call Time," the seminal work written for the NEXUS percussion ensemble and commissioned by Carnegie Hall for its 1990 centennial.

PROGRAM # 1848, Music from Japan/Music by Hans Otte (First aired on Mon,.11/6/00)





Takashi Kako

Prelude de l'eau

Church On the Water [4:00]

Tristar/Sony #57831** (PRMS* or )

Takashi Yoshimatsu

Saxophone Concerto, etc.

Bird In Grief (from Cyber-Bird) [8:30]

Chandos #9737** (PRMS* or ;

Toru Takemitsu

Orchestral Works

From me flows what you call Time, excerpt [10:00]

Sony #63044** (PRMS* or )

Margaret Leng-Tan


Hans Otte: Stundenbuch (Book of Hours), 6 excerpts [6:30]
9 excerpts [10:00]

This in-studio performance not commercially available. Otte's Das Buch der Klänge (the Book of Sounds) is available from Celestial Harmonies Records**,; The Book of Hours is available through

Takashi Kako

Long Journey

Landscape I - Medina [6:00]

CBS/Sony Japan #CSCL 1106. Japanese release; no further info available.

Find the recordings you've heard - go to the New Sounds Recordings Information page