« previous episode | next episode »

Friday, May 11, 2007

Mstislav Rostropovich was a rare combination: powerful conductor; courageous dissident; musical activist; but first he was a cellist. Since his death two weeks ago at age 80, WNYC’s Sara Fishko has been talking to cellists about his contribution for this edition of the Fishko Files.

A playlist of the Rostropovich recordings heard in this edition:

Schumann's Cello Concerto in A minor, Op. 129 with the Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra
Tchaikovsky's Variations on a Rococo Theme with the USSR Symphony Orchestra
Faure's Apres un reve, Op. 7/1 with Alexander Dedyuhkin
Britten's Suite for solo cello No. 1, Op. 72
Dvorak's Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104 with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
Saint-Saens's Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 33
Shostakovich's Concerto for Cello in E flat, Op. 107 with the Philadelphia Orchestra
Schubert's Sonata for arpeggione and piano, D821 with Benjamin Britten
Honegger's Cello Concerto [1934] with the USSR Symphony Orchestra

News, weather, Radiolab, Brian Lehrer and more.
Get the best of WNYC in your inbox, every morning.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.