New Morning for the World

« previous episode | next episode »

Thursday, November 06, 2008

"There comes a time when people get tired." With those words, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. launched a remarkable speech that spelled out the road map to eventual victory in the struggle for civil rights. We hear Chicago composer Joseph Schwantner's inspirational symphonic tribute to Dr. King, New Morning for the World: Daybreak of Freedom, which includes excerpts from that famous speech, given just over 50 years ago.

Also Featured Tonight:

Anthony Newman / Variations & Toccata for Violin
Arvo Part / Credo
Conlon Nancarrow / Piece No. 2 for Small Orchestra (1986)
Kevin Volans / String Quartet No. 2, "Hunting: Gathering"
Sergei Rachmaninoff / "The Bells," Op. 35
Johannes Brahms / Clarinet Sonata in F Minor, Op. 120/1

Comments [4]

Donald Petty from Manhattan

Hello, I came in on the last part of The Bells
tonight. The performers were not mentioned. Who were they, please?

Nov. 06 2008 10:43 PM
Jo Salas from New Paltz NY

Hi Terrance, what was the short violin piece right after the Joseph Schwantner piece, and who was playing? There were announcements immediately afterwards and it wasn't identified.

Nov. 06 2008 09:22 PM
phonic from DC

Ah yes, it was the Livelystones. Those two
trombone players are not to be believed.

They are alive and well, by the way:

Great pick Terrance, loving your work on WNYC...

Nov. 06 2008 07:18 PM
phonic from DC

That brass band had to be the Livelystones.
They'll give you chills if you stand right in
front of them, Dupont Circle in DC some summer evenings. They're 100% for real.

Nov. 06 2008 07:13 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

Get the WNYC Morning Brief in your inbox.
We'll send you our top 5 stories every day, plus breaking news and weather.