Ezequiel Viñao

Saturday, October 27, 2007

Argentinian-born and Juilliard trained, composer Ezequiel Viñao has made his home in New York for the last 27 years. In addition to his many awards and commissions, Viñao has enjoyed a long-standing relationship with the Juilliard String Quartet, for whom he wrote his second quartet, "The Loss and the Silence." Recent projects include "The Wanderer," a setting of Anglo-Saxon poetry for the vocal group Chanticleer, and his opera-in-progress with novelist Caleb Carr, "Merlin" (based on the Arthurian legend). On disc, Viñao is represented by Kristjan Järvi and the Absolute Ensemble in his memorial piece for voice and chamber ensemble, "Arcanum." A collection of the composer's etudes (as well as a piano trio) was released in 1996, entitled "54 Minutes from Viñao."


Ezequiel Viñao

Comments [1]

kathryn mulvihill from NYC

I'm listening to the interview with Mr. Vinao by chance, nursing a sore throat on this Saturday night. I'm so glad to be home! Mr. Vinao's erudition is obvious; how many composers of new music have as deep and broad a knowlege of early music as to be able to talk about isorhythms and medieval rhythmic modes? As an early musician, I respect that Mr. Vinao doesn't exploit early music vocabulary casually, but really knows what he is using. In addition, his way of speaking about music reveals, it seems to me, a truly compassionate and humane man. It's been a pleasure to listen!

Oct. 27 2007 09:10 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

Get the WNYC Morning Brief in your inbox.
We'll send you our top 5 stories every day, plus breaking news and weather.