Streams

Public Opinion on Syria

Friday, August 30, 2013

View of war damage from Serekaniye, Syria. March 22, 2013 (Fpolat69/Shutterstock)

Dante Chinni, director of the American Communities project, a collaboration including The Wall Street Journal, PBS NewsHour, and WNYC radio that studies politics, socio-economics, and culture in a time of change, discusses his analysis of U.S. public opinion on involvement in Syria.

Guests:

Dante Chinni

Comments [9]

scott from boonton, NJ

As a country we are broke. Sequester is in full force. Obama said today regarding the $100’s of millions of dollars it will take to attack Syria that we should not worry, “we will find the money”.

Fact – The FBI has taken a critical role in the war on terror.
Fact – next year the FBI cannot hire any new agents; there is no money.
Fact – next year each agent will have three weeks of non-paid time; there is no money.

Yet Obama wants to spend $100’s millions on Syria because he set a red line.

Vote NO on Syria!

Sep. 05 2013 06:08 PM
scott from boonton, NJ

On Aug. 20, 2012 Obama said, during a news conference at the White House, “We have been very clear to the Assad regime, but also to other players on the ground, that a red line for us is we start seeing a whole bunch of chemical weapons moving around or being utilized,” the president said a year ago last week. “That would change my calculus. That would change my equation.”

Today, September 4, 2013 Obama said, “I didn’t set a red line, the world set a red line”.

He is the master of double talk.

He wants to get America involved in an attack on a foreign nation that is undergoing its own civil war. Hamas supports Assad while Al-Qaida supports the rebels and Obama wants to hurt Assad and provide support for the rebels. The same organization that has cost the American people thousands of soldiers lives, billions of dollars and 10 years of anguish listening to the dead and wounded coming from Afghanistan.

This man is totally out of control.

I hope the House and the Senate have better common sense and listens to the majority of America people who do not want a conflict (war) with Syria or her allies, aka Iran.

Our greatest ally Britain has opted against participating, all but one of the Americas allies have refused to participate and Russia is against outside attacks.

Obama seems to for get about the in-force sequestering due to budget issues. We don’t have the funds to support another war; one that is not our problem.

Obama only wants to save face and is using the power of the White House to pressure Congress and the House to vote for action against Syria. Historian’s can assure you that history has shown that no one, not even Obama can predict the outcome of a military action against Syria.

Use your common sense and listen to the American people, the people that put you in office.

And to think this man was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize!!!

Vote NO on Syria.

Sep. 05 2013 05:59 PM
Mr. Bad from NYC

@ RUCB_Alum

I'm beginning to see your political perspective i.e. Obama can do no wrong. I don't think that history will be so kind. You're grasp of British politics is no better, the Brits are out and it doesn't matter what the UN inspectors say. They will most likely say they don't have enough evidence to tell either way which will suit Emperor Obama and proconsul Kerry just fine.

Aug. 30 2013 01:43 PM

Mr. Bad -

I think you are seeing what is not there....The UK Parliament will certainly vote to take action AFTER the UN inspectors has confirmed that the attack occurred and it was the government that did it. Cameron's case was a good one: the 1925 treaty outlawing chem warfare is too important to permit this breach. Syria signed it, BTW.

Obama will likewise wait for Congressional action before he takes action but he is hoping that the much-reported build-up will give the Syrians reasons to think before they do it again.

Too bad for Congress that they may lose some fundraising days if Syria forces the US to lead they way before the checks have been gathered but it may happen.

Aug. 30 2013 12:00 PM
Edward

100,000+ dead in Syria.
Use of poison gas on civilians in Syria.
Cannibalism in Syria.

Yet the fake "anti-war" crowd can't mass across the street from the Syrian embassy/consulate/mission and denounce genocide.

How low have regressive "progressives" fallen.

Aug. 30 2013 11:58 AM

Oh, and you can add Nation editior Katrina Van den Heuval to the list. And how! Incredible how utterly predictable her lame, forced apologetics for Obama have been -- every *blanking* time I've heard her on WNYC.

Aug. 30 2013 11:46 AM
Mr. Bad from NYC

whoops. I meant Langeled gas pipeline, not Nord Stream. Nord Stream is the whole problem LOL!

Aug. 30 2013 11:42 AM

But Mr. Bad, G.W. Bush is such an easy and useful punching boy. what would the smug, self-righteous, petit bourgeois WNYC/NPR/PBS/NY Times, etc. crowd do if they had to acknowledge that Obama is, in reality, no better?

Aug. 30 2013 11:42 AM
Mr. Bad from NYC

The public opinion is pretty clear, we "won't get fooled again" ...

The Obama to Bush III transformation is almost complete. Even Bush had a "coalition" of sh*tty little countries he bought off to march into Iraq with. Obama doesn't even want that. The imperial presidency is a cruise missile launch away folks! And why not? The consitution is already in tatters...

Hard to believe the UK is the first one to have come to their senses, maybe it's time to give paliamentarty democracy a try on this side of the pond? But then again they have the Nord Stream gas pipeline from Norway. France and continental europe et al is still aching for that Qatar to Austria Nabucco reboot...

Aug. 30 2013 11:33 AM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

Get the WNYC Morning Brief in your inbox.
We'll send you our top 5 stories every day, plus breaking news and weather.