Episode #3491

Electronic-Based Works

« previous episode | next episode »

Monday, July 22, 2013

Oneohtrix Point Never (Courtesy of the artist.)

Listen to a bevy of electronic-based works for this New Sounds program.  Hear music from English keyboardist, composer and electronic musician John Hopkins’ recent record, “Immunity,” which features a door opening and closing as a percussion element. Then listen to a sneak peek of a new album R + 7 to be released in September 2013 from the Brooklyn-based experimental electronic artist Daniel Lopatin, who releases music under the recording name Oneohtrix Point Never. Also, hear a movement by Alvin Curran written specifically for live performance: “Songs of the Magnetic Garden.” Then, music by Laurie Spiegel and a piece by Frances White featuring Japanese flutes entitled “Center Bridge,” which also features the sound of traffic driving over a bridge in New Jersey.

PROGRAM # 3491, Electronic Music, Old and New (First aired on 7/22/2013)                                        





Brian Eno/Jon Hopkins/Leo Abrahams

Small Craft on a Milk Sea

Lesser Heaven, excerpt [1:14]

Warp CD 207

Jon Hopkins


Immunity [9:57]

Domino WIGCD298

Oneohtrix Point Never

R Plus Seven

Problem Areas [3:06]

Due out September 30, 2013 on Warp

Laurie Spiegel

Unseen Worlds

Strand of Life (Viroid) [1:31]

Scarlet Records
Out of print.  Try

Alvin Curran

Songs and Views of the Magnetic Garden

On My Satin Harp [19:31]

Catalyst/BMG #61823 Now out of print, but try auction sites or

Frances White

Centre Bridge

Centre Bridge [12:12]

Mode #184

Custom bass guitar

New Music from Bass Players (Special Podcast)

Listen to some music by bass players on this New Sounds.  Hear the orchestral double bass, as represented by German bass player Eberhard Weber, along with the electric bass guitar, represented by the Swedish bass guitarist Jonas Hellborg.  There's also music by California bass player Michael Manring, whose signature instrument, the hyperbass, he helped to develop and is designed for limitless altered tunings.  Plus, music from bassist/composer and jazzer/rocker Ben Allison (also composer of NPR’s On the Media theme) - his tune "Slap Happy" from the record "Peace Pipe," and more.

Special thanks to our New Sounds Summer Intern, Ross Harriss, for helping to make this podcast possible.


Comments [1]

Jane from Brooklyn

great episode! can't wait for the new OPN album.

Jul. 22 2013 11:22 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

Get the WNYC Morning Brief in your inbox.
We'll send you our top 5 stories every day, plus breaking news and weather.