Episode #3463

Bowed String Multiples

« previous episode | next episode »

Friday, May 03, 2013

Violin. (kubotake/flickr)

Listen to music for multiple stringed instruments on this New Sounds.  Hear a work from “Recursions,” the solo record by violist Nicholas Cords, who is both a member of the string quartet Brooklyn Rider and Yo Yo Ma’s Silk Road Ensemble.  Cords’ five-part suite, “Five Migrations,” builds looped melodies that range from the thoughtful to the propulsive, with stops at the Penguin Café and along the Silk Road.  There’s also music for multiple violins with music from Todd Reynolds, for multiple cellos by Zoe Keating, and perhaps music performed by double-bass player Robert Black of the Bang on a Can All-Stars. 

PROGRAM # 3463, Music for Multiples (First aired on 5/3/13)                                                       





Michael Galasso


Scenes I [3:04]

ECM 1245

Zoe Keating

One Cello x16: Natoma

Legions (War)[06:01]

Self- Released

Todd Reynolds


Task Force: Farmlab [06:29]

Innova Records #741 OR

Nicholas Cords


5 Migrations - Time Gate [00:51],
Stilted Reverie [00:48],
Anachronism [02:07],
Labyrinth [00:56],
Landing [02:21]

In a Circle Records OR

Florent Ghys

Music for Dimensions

L’air du Baobab [07:50]

Self- Released

Zoe Keating

One Cello x16: Natoma

Fern [08:21]

Self- Released

Robert Black

State of the Bass

Richard Zvonar: Two in the Hand [07:34]

O.O. Discs #14

Steve Reich & Kronos Quartet

Triple Quartet

Reich: Triple Quartet, Third Movement,  Excerpt [1:00]

Nonesuch 79546

News, weather, Radiolab, Brian Lehrer and more.
Get the best of WNYC in your inbox, every morning.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.