Episode #3440

Electroacoustic: Going for Baroque

« previous episode | next episode »

Monday, March 11, 2013

For this New Sounds, listen to a number of electroacoustic works featuring strings; viola, cello, and violin.  Check out violist Nadia Sirota's latest, "Baroque," with a dark, extreme piece by Paul Corley and motoric music from Missy Mazzoli.  Then there's music by Steve Reich for cellist Maya Beiser, his 2003 "Cello Counterpoint."  Also, hear chamber music by Anna Clyne from her record, "Blue Moth," involving a music box that plays "Sakura."  Plus, cello music for Jody Redhage by Paula Matthusen, and more.

PROGRAM #3440, Electroacoustic works (First aired on 3/11/2013)                                       





Nadia Sirota


Paul Corley: Tristan Da Cunha [9:32]

Bedroom Community HVALUR17
Due out March 25, 2013

Seattle Chamber Players

Blue Moth

Anna Clyne: 1987 [8:03]

Tzadik 8084

Also available at

Maya Beiser

You Are (Variations)

Steve Reich: Cello Counterpoint

Nonesuch 79891

Jody Redhage

Of Minutiae and Memory

Paula Matthusen: Of Minutiae and Memory [6:36]

New Amsterdam Records NWAM031

Nadia Sirota


Mazzoli: Tooth and Nail [10:00]

See above.

Todd Reynolds


End of Day, excerpt [1:00]

Innova 741

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

Get the WNYC Morning Brief in your inbox.
We'll send you our top 5 stories every day, plus breaking news and weather.