Streams

Complaining About the Police Complaints System

Thursday, September 06, 2007

The New York Civil Liberties Union just issued a report that criticized the NYPD's Civilian Complaint Review Board. NYCLU executive director Donna Lieberman, and the report's author Bob Perry, explain their critique. Then Franklin Stone, chair of the CCRB, defends her organization. Finally, Julie L. Schwartz, assistant commissioner of the New York Police Department's Advocate's office, defends the NYPD.

Guests:

Donna Lieberman, Bob Perry, Julie L. Schwartz and Franklin Stone

Comments [10]

momos from Harlem

Brian - Your first question to the CCRB rep was "do you agree with the NYCLU's report?" Duh. Obviously she'll say no.

You let her spin instead of asking hard questions about specific NYCLU allegations.

Your handling of this segment was not up to your usual standard. It ended up being "she-said, she-said, she-said" instead of a revealing discussion of the strengths and weaknesses of the CCRB.

Sep. 06 2007 11:08 AM
Margaret from Brooklyn, NY

The woman representing the CRCB is hardly a representative. She couod not voice one sentence without all the "ummmimg" and hesitations. Your present guest is claearly in possession of fact - past and present.

Sep. 06 2007 10:41 AM
Jack from Brooklyn

I have to wonder whether people are afraid to continue with investigations into their complaints because they fear retribution, because they're afraid that the police will get wind of their complaint and target them? For communities that are consistently targeted by the police, this is not a far-fetched notion and has indeed happened to people that speak out against the police, as in the case of Juanita Young (http://www.gvny.com/columns/lamb/lamb07-11-03.html).

Additionally - with the "experienced law enforcement personnel" within the CCRB and the reliance on the police department itself to review the board's recommendations and try the serious cases, how could we possibly expect the CCRB to truly hold the police department accountable, as opposed to simply "making recommendations" to the police that they can easily ignore? Do we really expect the police department to not close ranks and protect their own or play down allegations in order to keep their PR shiny? For the police department to truly be held accountable, an entirely independent and empowered civilian board must be appointed that has the power to actually discipline and press charges against police officers.

Sep. 06 2007 10:40 AM
Noel from STATEN ISLAND, NY

I'm sending this again; not sure if you got the original. I'm a former civilian MOS. I resigned for reasons I will not go into here.

The famous "BLUE WALL" is alive and well and thriving at the NYPD, which has NO internal board of review that is fair and/or complete. The IAB??? A Joke ! Without question, the NYPD will ALWAYS side with the cop in question, and usually treats CCRB complaints as a joke.

I could tell you much more, but cannot at this time.

Sep. 06 2007 10:38 AM
Trevor from LIC

Way to go Brian for putting the proverbial finger in the CCRB's chest and asking why the Commissioner isn't responsible for a change "in the past two years". You could hear her wheels doing a burnout in reverse.

Sep. 06 2007 10:38 AM
ab from NYC

Why does she sound so unclear and unsure of what she is saying?

Sep. 06 2007 10:37 AM
Noel from STATEN ISLAND, NY

I am a former civilian member of the service.
The NYPD's Blue Wall certainly is erected and in full strength every time a CCRB complaint is logged. The NYPD has no 'inner policing' agency to police their own tactics; and they also have an army of attornies to handle any and all complaints that come their way. I could tell you much more. I would love to call in, but am presently contending with my own somewhat legal problems with the NYPD.

Sep. 06 2007 10:35 AM
Robert from NYC

She simply sounds like she's full of crap. How much does NYPD pay her to be so unclear.

Sep. 06 2007 10:31 AM
mgdu from hell's kitchen

ccrb truncated my complaint---about being rammed by a plainclothes officer on a scooter on the orders of the brass on scene---with excuse that they could not identify the specific scooter driver. but my complaint was against the brass who they didn't want to pursue. why not go after the brass?

Sep. 06 2007 10:27 AM
mgdu from hell's kitchen

to begin by saying, and emphasizing, "a few rogue bad apples" prejudices the discussion and goes against common perceptions of systemic nypd misconduct

Sep. 06 2007 10:13 AM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

The Morning Brief

Enter your email address and we’ll send you our top 5 stories every day, plus breaking news and weather.