Gig Alert: Alexander String Quartet

Email a Friend

Alexander String Quartet
"Brahms: Intermezzo in A Major, Op. 118, No. 2"
Playing on Monday at Baruch Arts Performing Center 
(55 Lexington Ave, U.E.S.)
Get: Tickets ($25) | Directions 

Since forming some 30 years ago, the Alexander String Quartet has gained international acclaim for its virtuosic renditions of Mozart and Beethoven, among other composers. The group, which is now based in San Francisco, returns to its hometown of New York City this week for shows at the Baruch Performing Arts Center. The Monday and Friday night concerts are part of a week-long residency the quartet has gotten at the Upper East Side institution for 25 years running.

At this year’s concerts, the Alexander String Quartet’s members -- Zakarias Grafilo (violin), Frederick Lifsitz (violin), Paul Yarbrough (viola) and Sandy Wilson (cello) – will play a cycle of works by Hungarian composer Bela Bartók. For a preview, download the group’s rendition of Brahms’ “Intermezzo in A Major” and watch the four-piece perform Beethoven’s “String Quartet No. 1, Op. 18, Mvt. 1” below.