Streams

Opinion: Gisele's Superbowl Rant Sounds Like the Obama Apologists

Wednesday, February 08, 2012 - 12:11 PM

There was something very familiar about Gisele's reaction to the Patriots losing the Super Bowl. In case you missed it the supermodel unleashed on her husband's teammates saying he couldn't be expected to both throw the ball as well as catch it. There was an f-word involved but this is a family website so I won't quote her exactly.

Her sense of entitlement, her willingness to throw blame around, her inability to see her man's flaw, yes, I had definitely heard it before: from President Obama and his fans.

The buzzwords for the three years of Obama's ineffective presidency has been "Republican obstructionism." It's the fault of those Republicans that Obama has been a failure. He's leading the team, he's throwing so perfectly , they're just not catching.

It's interesting to remember all the outlandish promising he did to get into office. When anyone questioned whether the candidate Obama resided in the same reality as the rest of us--say, the reality where Iran really is our enemy and not just because we haven't sat down and talked to them enough--we were accused of not understanding that this was a different leader, filled with hope and change, selling very hip t-shirts on college campuses. We old fuddy-duddy Republicans who didn't think the war in Iraq could be ended overnight were just part of the old way of doing things. The new way would close Guantanamo. The new way would end the Bush tax cuts. We were so lame with our facts and our evidence.

The most delicious part of the whole "Republicans won't let Obama do anything whine" is that our dummy ex-president, the bumbling George W. Bush, who couldn't form an elegant sentence like Obama does or deliver it with quite the same confidence, runs circles around Obama politically. He got nearly everything he wanted during his presidency and he did it with a Democratic congress. Wars in Iraq and Afghanistan? Check. No Child Left Behind? Check. Prescription drug bill, Patriot Act, check check. Obama is the smart one and Bush wasn't and yet there was no whining about obstructionist Democrats since president Bush managed to get them in his corner every time.

Tom Brady is an amazing quarterback and yet Eli Manning, who gets so much less respect than his brother Jeb, I mean Peyton, managed to beat him twice now in the Super Bowl. Perhaps the person who whines less about the actions of others is more likely to have them on their side and actually win.

Tags:

More in:

Comments [40]

John Prusinski from Warwick, NY

As much as I'm annoyed by O-pologists, I must admit I think the analogy is a stretch... Brady was not quite as brilliant as he has been in the past, but he was still better than most quarterbacks, and there were several passes that probably would have changed the outcome of the game if his normally sure-handed receivers hadn't dropped very catchable balls, so I can't altogether disagree with Giselle, annoying as she is.

The big difference, though, is that Brady was doing everything in his power to deliver on his promises; what's so disappointing about Obama is that it looks very much like he never intended to deliver on some of his most important promises when he issued them on the campaign trail (transparency in government, protection for whistleblowers, illegal detentions, etc.). He's been worse than Bush on a lot of those fronts, and has taken the initiative on claiming, for instance, the power to kill American citizens without trial; it's not like he's fighting Republican efforts to force him to use those powers against his will!

At least Brady went down fighting to deliver on his promises, rather than hoping we'd all forget what he said he would do.

Feb. 14 2012 12:25 PM
Robertux DeCe from Belgium

I follow respect ;)

Feb. 11 2012 05:05 PM
reforming angels from nj

I join the comments that welcome commentary from the right/conservative side of the political spectrum. It would be more effective for WNYC to find (in this big, big city) a voice that is both less obviously partisan and more honestly engaged with reality and facts, rather than spin.

Feb. 10 2012 07:02 PM
Caitlin Thompson

Let's keep it civil, folks!

Feb. 10 2012 08:59 AM
RhiannonMackenzie

Great article. Gisele, Tom Brady, and the patriots are overrated, just like a certain president. Thank you for showing the conservative side of an issue and allowing our point of view to be heard, without going too over the top like many right wingers tend to do.

Feb. 10 2012 07:31 AM
Hugo from the bench

Bully!!! Wahhahaha!!

Feb. 09 2012 11:42 AM
Marce from Brooklyn

The only thing that compels me to write a comment to this absurd post is the question: could she possibly really mean this?
I want to give KM the benefit of the doubt. Nobody with a minimum of neural activity could actually believe this kind of stuff (the word that comes to mind is a different one but, this being a family website, I used "stuff" instead) so here is my theory: I think that one measure of the "success" of these blogs is how many clicks and comments a post receives so, every once in a while, she posts completely outlandish ones like this one where reality is flipped on its head with the intention of soliciting as many outraged comments as possible.
As for the deluge of negative feedback she receives in response to these delusional statements, they are framed according to textbook right wing orthodoxy: by portraying herself as the brave conservative who writes for WNYC, "behind enemy lines" where obviously everybody is a liberal and that's the reason she is shunned.

What to make of statements such as that Bush worked in spite of a Democratic Congress when for 8 out his 6 years the GOP held both the Senate and the House?
But my absolute favorite is the whole premise that Bush was able to get things done by getting Democrats to do what he wanted, framed in a way that portrays Bush as being "effective" rather than Democrats as being "responsible". Similarly, the intransigent obstructionism of the GOP from day one of the Obama's presidency (that has been clearly stated by Mitch McConnell and others as the chief party's strategy) is described as a failure of the president rather than irresponsibility on the part of the Republicans. It's like someone doing a really good job at intentionally burning down a house and then blaming the fire dept. for not saving it...
Priceless!...
If you feel like checking a few more items out, here is something for you:

http://obamaachievements.org/list

Feb. 09 2012 09:03 AM
MamaM from brkln

i like that you guys are least allowing "the other" side to speak, usually i find wnyc takes the "liberal" stance each and every single time (coz mostly Ls are correct). i agree with some of the reporter's points, but feel the article should have been given more space. the topic of obama apologists yes/no deserves more than this short little thing.
perhaps, just as the NYT devotes expanded coverage to certain off-the-beaten path topics in its weekend magazine, wnyc should allow for an expanded IAFC blog section once in a while.

Feb. 08 2012 10:16 PM
peturbed from LES

as your page heading says, it's a free country.. Does that give you, wnyc, the right to have someone post something that doesn't have their facts straight, at all, and is just rude? curious. I'm not happy with what the president has done. But to have this person write some slanted BS, doesn't serve you, as a media outlet. I have a suggestion. Why not raise the conversation to a higher level, and let the NY Post write this kind of crap.

Feb. 08 2012 09:55 PM
James Papp from New York

I know there are not many Republicans in New York, but there are some who are intelligent. I would be willing to forward their names. This sort of drivel makes one less likely to click on the articles.

Alternatively, if this was, as I suspect, just an excuse to show Gisele Bundchen's picture, why not "Quinn, not Bundchen, Says NYPD's Stop and Frisk Policy Has 'Sown Distrust,'" "Crossing Delancey Street Soon to Get Safer for Gisele," and "Women, Not Supermodels (Pictured), Box: Fighting to Make History."

Feb. 08 2012 09:32 PM
prado

This makes so much sense. Critics of the president who make claims that he's not illegible for the office, a closet Muslim, a closet hater of all white Americans are making such reasonable arguments such that only a sycophant would dare to question their soundness.

Feb. 08 2012 09:25 PM
Agnes from Long Island City

the writer of this article just illustrated her lack of intelligence in carrying through this argument: where exactly is the analogy?! for one, complaining about the husbands teammates is not equivalent is not seeing the fault in her husband. it is the bad uncontrolled temper a wife should not have done to her husband, but it is not equivalent in not seeing fault in him. second, even if the argument would have been brought through correctly, it would not be valid, since president Obama is by no means a failed president, and the arguments brought up to illustrate his "failures" should be fact-checked --- I expected more from writers on the WNYC site!

Feb. 08 2012 09:20 PM
Paul from Long Island City

Failed presidency? The premise of this article is BS to start. Obama has not failed. He's helped the country dig out of the huge crater left by the 2008 financial crisis. On foreign policy, he has an outstanding record, second to absolutely no president in modern history. I seriously question the intelligence of anyone who could write the above article without immediately seeing the flaws in their own arguments. Mrs. Markowicz, your blithering is tiresome, counter-productive, and... wait, are you trying to be funny.

Feb. 08 2012 09:10 PM
Sean from Queens

This seems like a bit of a stretch. I think this cigar is just a cigar. Receivers dropped well thrown balls at a crucial moment. If you are a fan of the team that upsets you. That about sums it up.

Feb. 08 2012 08:56 PM
Peter D from Brooklyn, NY

So, is it really whining if it's true? Gisele did have a point. I'm sure a lot of lunks had already shouted it verbatim. Hopefully the ball dropper's psyches aren't too scarred. But isn't there some kind of dual misogyny/emasculation at work here? I absolutely see the echo of frustrating sentiment - thanks for that! It just seems hijacked - like "politically correct" or "class warfare" or "whining", some Atwater code - to figuratively castrate the opponent. Is it always about who's got bigger balls?

Feb. 08 2012 08:02 PM
Irv from oakland,ca

Wow..an anti-Obama statement on a PBS web site...didn't take a reflexologist to knee jerk the rabid response. If you can't trust PBS to be an unbiased supporter of the adminstration, who can you trust. The Huffington Post"?

Feb. 08 2012 06:41 PM
Stephen J. Herschkorn from Highland Park, NJ

The fact that W got his way just how non-obstructionst Democrats are. Very unlike the Republicans, who would rather see the decline of the country (or an least paralysis) than not get their way.

Feb. 08 2012 05:57 PM
Eddie Brown from New York, NY

Heh, Heh, So fun reading all these libs get twisted. Must be rough knowing what Hillary could have been.
And even rougher knowing Barry is months away from an inevitable loss.

Feb. 08 2012 05:54 PM

This bit of tried fluff gives blogging its bad name. Random connecting-of-dots, beyond-obvious political agenda, poor attempts at humor. Check, check, check.

I adore WNYC and wonder if maybe the site has been hacked? I also, admittedly, wonder why I felt compelled to click on this.

Feb. 08 2012 05:44 PM
tony from New York, NY

Like most Teabaggers, she seems to have had a blissful life in denial, makes space-cadet connections and never gets around to her point (like mentioning who exactly --- or generally, even--- is apologizing for Obama). Unlike most Teabaggers, she can spell. I find that to be the most fascinating aspect of this article. I thought "Get a Brain Morans" was the spokesperson of Generation Duh.

Feb. 08 2012 05:35 PM
Rita NYC from NYC

I expect more from WNYC. I don' mind differing opinions, but only if they have their facts straight, and it doesn't sound like a lame attempt at sarcasm. Makes me wonder if this is an attempt by WNYC to seem unbiased... sort of like putting up a sloppy seconds Democrat on Fox News.

Feb. 08 2012 05:32 PM
Richard from Westchester Co.

It is a bit difficult to understand why Karol bothered to write up her "opinion" for WNYC.

She does not quote Brady's wife who was only talking about a sporting event. She does not quote Pres. Obama or anyone else. She does characterize the critics of the last 3 years worth of Washington politics. But, she is quite willing to link up Pres. Obama and Brady's wife because they were angry with the outcome.

Perhaps the better question for Karol, are you satisfied with the Republican team in the House and Senate for what they have done during the Obama administration? Surprise, when she answers yes, she is, it is contrary to how many, perhaps 65% of this country. Congress has the lowest approval rating in my memory. Politics of personal attacks and hatred runs contrary to what I believe and I am not alone. To that point, how often have we heard: Obama the Socialist, Obama the African. Obama the Muslim? And, where are we to discern her reference, "Obama the One Who Feels Entitled"?

Before finishing, as for her smug satisfaction with the Bush administration I hasten to point out the lies and deceptions that led our country and others into Iraq. Is she not aware of the hunting trip with VP Cheney and US Supreme Court Justice Scalia? No, no fair minded person is satisfied what American politics have served up and we are equally likely to puke as we watch the GOP candidates square off. There is good reason the GOP is widely identified as "The Party of No.

Feb. 08 2012 05:04 PM
sam

Aren't you supposed to be more subtle than that, Ms. Karol? Maybe we plebs are so dumb, we just buy into your twisted narrative. This is so silly.

Feb. 08 2012 05:01 PM
bocephus from nyc

I don't like Giselle or care what she thinks, I don't like the Super Bowl and I don't like Republican policies so your article loses on all points with this voter, but I'm glad NPR is fair minded enough to let jackasses from both major parties air their impassioned but cockamamie broadsides here. BTW the GOP's gonna lose. Obama 2012!

Feb. 08 2012 04:50 PM
mick from Inwood

Nonsense. Ms. Markowicz is a political flack who seems to have a very tenuous grasp of reality. Her opinions as expressed in this blog aren't worth commenting on. WNYC should be ashamed of giving her space on a respectable media outlet...send her back to Fox and Rush Limbaugh radio where she belongs.

Feb. 08 2012 04:44 PM

You should stop writing. You have no clue of the real world.

Feb. 08 2012 04:44 PM
kledd spattermonger

Give it a rest, you and all the other overheated over-reactors. Her husband lost a big game and she lost her composure temporarily. Who are you, the high and mighty lord of the rings? You've never said anything you wish you hadn't. Come on.

Feb. 08 2012 04:40 PM
Giovanni il Pulpo from Bklyn

Don't forget president Dum Dum's most stellar accomplishment, Karol; he got all that brush cleared down on his ranch. Yee haw!

Ask the people of Haditha how they feel about the things President Dum Dum the Draft Dodging Mindless Faux Cowboy Jerk "got done". There are plenty of "facts and evidence" regarding the wanton slaughter of civilians.
Yet another MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!

Feb. 08 2012 04:13 PM
Phil from Super far from Karol

Come on, WNYC! Really??!! Karol M's position is completely transparent and hollow. AND you don't have the sense enough to check the so called information you are depositing?? What a Bandwagoneer fully absent of original thought. Hit the skids.

Message to those who havent responded but are considering doing so. Don't. Her comments are absolutely not worthy.

WNYC, come on. You can do better - by accident.

Feb. 08 2012 04:06 PM
jonathan from New York

"He (Bush) got nearly everything he wanted during his presidency and he did it with a Democratic congress"

Wrong. ALL of those "accomplishments" happened with a Republican congress. That you got such a basic fact wrong negates your entire article.

Feb. 08 2012 03:08 PM
jonathan from New York

"He (Bush) got nearly everything he wanted during his presidency and he did it with a Democratic congress"

Wrong. ALL of those "accomplishments" happened with a Republican congress. That you got such a basic fact wrong negates your entire article.

Feb. 08 2012 03:07 PM
Julie from Texas

THE BETTER TEAM WON!! A TRICK TO THE GAME PLAY AS A TEAM IT'S NOT ONE MAN!!! There was alot of play's that the Patriots as a TEAM could have done different so Gisele throwing blame around to everyone on the team doesnt help at all they LOST get over it!! Next time maybe they will choose to play as a TEAM and make BETTER CALL'S!!

Feb. 08 2012 02:56 PM
Jonathan Dowell from Westfield, NJ

Apart from the fact that a wife can (and should) be forgiven for an outburst arising so clearly from her concern over her husband's anguish, the jump from Gisele's "rant" to President Obama's "fans" was a little much for me. As was the accusation that Ms. Bundchen's behavior reflected a sense of entitlement. This is an extremely intelligent businesswoman who has amassed her own fortune honestly and who, along the way, has not forgotten to advocate for those less fortunate and for the environment. Her outburst is regrettable, to be sure; and she has to live with the fact that she can't take it back. But your opinion piece is downright shameful. No thoughtful person is claiming that President Obama has not made serious mistakes. However, I also think that no one (including his enemies) believes he is not sincere in what he does. If Repubican obstructionism is an illusion, what am I to make of nearly every public statement made by Mitch McConnell? He has said so many truly unforgiveable things, he should get some kind of award.

Feb. 08 2012 02:51 PM
Ivan from Brooklyn

Maurice,
In my opinion, you are a whiny loser, who can not accept the fact that some people's opinions differ from your own. As a result, you are capable of nothing but name-calling, while offering zero support for your own opinion. Get a life.

Feb. 08 2012 02:36 PM
Maurice from Yorktown Heights

In my opinion Karol Markowicz is an ugly partisan who offers nothing to a civil exchange of ideas only twisted thinking. I am surprised that her biased opinions appeared on the front page of my WNYC log in. I rely on Public radio for balanced presentations and do not appreciate her unbalanced opinions being displayed in such prominent way. Let her take her right rants to forums that embrace right wing propaganda and don’t get credibility to her distorted views.

Feb. 08 2012 02:15 PM
JEZ from 10039

The Bush administration used 9/11 to bully the country to believe in their beliefs and desires. I guess "pushing the debate" via fear-mongering and outright lying is perfectly fine in politics as long as you get what you want.
And its not fair to compare Repbulican obstructionism to Democratic opposition. It seems that some Republicans are willing to ruin the country just to make Obama look bad and limit him to one term.

Feb. 08 2012 02:14 PM
suzinne from bronx

This is a cute match up. Gisele and the Republicans. And you can bet Tom and Gisele are part of that team.

Feb. 08 2012 02:10 PM

As someone who supports neither party i would like to say "Republican obstructionism" is very real. Debt ceiling anyone?

"It's the fault of those Republicans that Obama has been a failure." Um, the republicans want Obama to fail so they can regain the white house.

As for "He (Bush) got nearly everything he wanted during his presidency and he did it with a Democratic congress." - Um we were attacked on 9/11. ANY PRESIDENT would have had that kind of support. Interesting to note Bush ended as a lame duck president who enlarged our debt tremendously and started the BAILOUT processes.

"Wars in Iraq and Afghanistan? Check. No Child Left Behind? Check. Prescription drug bill, Patriot Act, check check. " - Unfounded war based on false premises? CHECK. Explosion of US debt? CHECK?

Obama got a few things right. End Iraq War? CHECK? Kill Osama? CHECK? Increase troops to combat afghanistan rebels? CHECK? Help resurgence of GM to prosperity? CHECK

time to stop bullshitting already

Feb. 08 2012 02:06 PM
Karol from NYC

John-Paul, while it's true that Bush had a Republican congress for some of his time in office, he actually got Democrats to vote for all of his bills. Patriot Act had one no vote. The Iraq war vote was completely lopsided as was No Child Left Behind (10 no votes out of 100, if I recall correctly). Bush was able to work with the other party, able to push the debate and get the votes he needed in a way Obama doesn't dream of. You can blame republican obstructionism but it sounds very similar to a supermodel defending her quarterback husband who had just lost a big game.

Feb. 08 2012 01:48 PM
John-Paul Bernbach from New York, NY

You wrote: "He [President George W. Bush] got nearly everything he wanted during his presidency and he did it with a Democratic congress. Wars in Iraq and Afghanistan? Check. No Child Left Behind? Check. Prescription drug bill, Patriot Act, check check. Obama is the smart one and Bush wasn't and yet there was no whining about obstructionist Democrats since president Bush managed to get them in his corner every time."

You may want to check your facts. For the first 6 years of his 8 year presidency (Jan 2001 to Jan 2007), when all of the legislation you mention was passed, the GOP controlled both the House and the Senate.

Incidentally, those six years were the first and only time since the period leading up to the Great Depression that the GOP controlled both houses of congress and the White House at the same time. It's worth noting that both these periods of Republican control (1921-1933 and 2001-2007) saw speculative bubbles that resulted in the two most catastrophic financial crises of the past 100 years.

Presumably, this remark of yours was intended to be sarcastic: "We were so lame with our facts and our evidence." But it's actually the most accurate assertion in your article.

Feb. 08 2012 01:26 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

Get the WNYC Morning Brief in your inbox.
We'll send you our top 5 stories every day, plus breaking news and weather.

Sponsored

About It's A Free Blog

Congress shall make no law respecting the establishment of a blog, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof.

Supported by

WNYC is supported by the Charles H. Revson Foundation: Because a great city needs an informed and engaged public.  Learn more at revsonfoundation.org.

Authors

Feeds

Supported by