New Releases, December 2011


It's the most wonderful time of the month!  John Schaefer sifts through the deluge of CDs (and digital offerings) which has flooded his office to find a sampling of new releases worthy of showcasing in tonight's New Sounds program.  There's new guitar music, maybe best described as "zen-shred," from Ben Greenberg, aka "Hubble," (he of Zs and Pygmy Shrews) from his hypnotic solo space odyssey, "Hubble Drums." 

Also, expect some music of the Bayaka people from the Oka! soundtrack, new instrumental music from violinist Jenny Scheinman and her co-conspirators Nels Cline, Jim Black & Todd Sickafoose, and music for piano and electronics by "Blue Gene Tyranny."  Plus, an overlooked gem, "We Are Rising," from Son Lux, (previously lost on the desk) and more.

PROGRAM # 3285, New Releases December 2011  (First aired on 12/30/2011)                                                        





Jenny Scheinman

Mischief & Mayhem

A Ride with Polly Jean, excerpt [1:30]

Due out March 2012 on Jenny’s own label.

Chris Berry & The Bayaka Of Yandoumbe

OKA! (soundtrack)

Yetoo's Dream [2:22]
Mua Solo [2:18]

Oka Productions
Available at iTunes, or eMusic.

Dawda Jobarteh

Northern Light Gambian Night

Namo [4:18]

Sterns STCD 1112

Jenny Scheinman

Mischief & Mayhem

Ali Farka Touche [4:31]

See above.

Son Lux

We Are Rising

Let Go [3:21]

Anticon ABR0114


Hubble Drums

Hubble’s Hubble [10:33]

Northern-Spy Records NS 015

Blue Gene Tyranny


She Wore Red Shoes [11:27]

Unseen Worlds 07
Due out Jan. 2012

Andrew Cronshaw

The Unbroken Surface of Snow

Im Hogutz, excerpt [1:00]

CV 2009

Vladimir Martynov /  Kronos Quartet

Music of Vladimir Martynov

Beatitudes/arr. Kronos Quartet [5:31]

Nonesuch 529776
due out Jan. 10, 2012