Streams

Opinion: Remember Post-Racial America? Neither Does Eric Holder

Friday, December 23, 2011 - 11:36 AM

U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder (Mark Wilson/Getty)

Barack Obama was supposed to lead us into a post-racial America.

Instead, his presidency has become a study in incompetency with an accusation of racism toward anyone who dares say so.

In case you hadn't heard, and as there is no "a Republican candidate said something stupid" angle here you probably haven't, the Obama Justice Department sold guns to Mexican drug gangs under a program called Fast and Furious.

The official purpose of Fast and Furious was to allow some guns to be purchased by the gangs so that a larger sting operation could conducted. It sounds like a bad plot in a Vin Diesel movie but unfortunately this one didn't work out as well as it would in a film. These guns were used to kill scores of people in Mexico and one American border agent, Brian Terry.

How is the Obama administration responding to the questions and entirely reasonable criticisms of the program?

With charges of racism, of course!

Attorney General Eric Holder said: “This is a way to get at the president because of the way I can be identified with him. Both due to the nature of our relationship and, you know, the fact that we’re both African-American.”

Get it? Those dastardly Republicans aren't concerned about an illegal gun trade into Mexico or a dead American border agent, they just want to criticize some black guys. The New York Times notes that the program "lost track of hundreds of weapons" but obviously attacks on Holder are racially motivated.

The fact that Holder must resign is clear. He allowed a ridiculous, dangerous program to take place on his watch. We can't keep shrugging our shoulders and saying that government programs are nearly always poorly run so let's ignore an illegal gun trade into Mexico. Just like the Obama administration can't keep pulling the race card every time they're in a situation where bad leadership was exercised.

Born in the Soviet Union and raised in Brooklyn, Karol Markowicz is a public relations consultant in NYC and a veteran of Republican campaigns in four states. She blogs about politics at Alarming News and about life in the city with her husband and baby at 212 Baby. She can be followed on Twitter.

 

Tags:

More in:

The Morning Brief

Enter your email address and we’ll send you our top 5 stories every day, plus breaking news and weather.

Comments [11]

james browen from long island ny

holder is a racist. holder is a blt not far from a black kkk that would disarm the people to get the guns away from the good people of america for his radical blt agenda .

Feb. 03 2012 03:58 PM
Jack Jackson from Central New Jersey

@Bill -

Barack Obama is perhaps the only true African-American we will ever know - one parent from Africa, one from the United States. His experience of being black in America may not jibe with the rest of our group but he is clearly treated as black by the rest of the country.

Obama's 'failing' is not in acting Republican but willingly comprising with the minority party that wants nothing but his destruction. The Rights read of BHO's 'go along to get along' character has (so far) been used by them to his disadvantage. Rather than cave to these anti-democratic obstructionists, the President is learning to give as good as he gets and expose their self-serving positions.

Jan. 13 2012 10:28 AM

Yeah, that little difference between Wide Receiver under Bush, 200 firearms, the Mexican authorities completely involved and notified of who, what, when and where, and no one died as a result, but was then discontinuted as it failed to deliver results as the bad guys caught wind of the operation and played smart.

Then Project Fast & Furious, later renamed saracastically Project Gunwalker as the ATF was caught implementing such a cowboy operation implemented under Holder with no cooperation with Mexican authorities, no notification, several thousand weapons sent to Mexico alone and people died. Just the tip of the iceberg as the ATF did the same thing into the Carribean and out of multiple states.

So explain again just what was their goal if they had no intention of including the Mexican government, much less how multiple ATF jurisdictions did the same exact thing all without Holder knwoing about it much less directing it?

Does anyone really believe that the ATF is so screwed up that multiple divisions, disobeyed their upper chain of command and did the exact same thing, without directives from their command, ROTFLMFAO, ROTFLMFAO, ROTFLMFAO, and pigs really fly eh?

Dec. 25 2011 08:40 PM
tmuir from San Rafael CA

"I am not a racist. I am against every form of racism and segregation, every form of discrimination. I believe in human beings, and that all human beings should be respected as such, regardless of their color." - Malcolm X.

AG Holder do we as a nation have to fight for the rights that we already have? If your attitude is any indication, then Yes.

Dec. 25 2011 08:20 PM
listener

Bravo to Ms. Markowicz and thanks to the website for allowing a diversity of opinion.
Why was former Attorney General Gonzales in the Bush Administration held to a higher standard than our current Attorney General over a much more serious issue?

Dec. 25 2011 09:48 AM
repoman420 from ohio

racism? The only ones raciest are the one running the administration. If your white,Christian,republican,American and so on you have to have your guard up constantly. We cant say God,we cant protect our boarders, we cant say anything against the administration. I'm sick and tired of it glad i still have my second amendment so i can protect myself against the illegals flooding our boarders with the firearms that Holder has furnished them and when this government tries and taking my first amendment away ill be ready to fight for your freedoms America. Hopefully this raciest regime running the country will be no more,come the end of the year wake up white people time to take our free country back from these dirt bags. Raciest bastards

Dec. 25 2011 08:41 AM
RHarrisonScott from Riverside CA

Don't need to hear about racism from a man whose entire career depends on a perpetuation of the notion that whites hate blacks. The problem Holder has is that a majority of the electorate ain't buying the "pity me because I'm black and disadvantaged" crap any more.

Facts don't cease to exist because Eric Holder elects to ignore them. In the past presidential election, 95% of the black community voted for Barack Obama; 45% of whites voted for him. Given these "facts," who but a disingenuous fool could reasonably conclude that racism is as significant an issue in the white community as it is in the black?

Dec. 24 2011 11:21 AM

Dear Ms. Markowicz:

Re:"Barack Obama was supposed to lead us into a post-racial America."

Your opening sentence seems to me to contain more than a whiff of the Straw Man gambit. As such, it allies you with such writers as Mr. Shelby Steele in his LA Times piece linked below.

http://www.latimes.com/news/opinion/opinionla/la-oe-steele5-2008nov05,0,6049031.story

I would be surprised indeed if you can read it without wincing.

Season's best to you and yours.

Dec. 23 2011 04:06 PM
Jack Jackson from Central NJ

Karol -

The post-racial America construct you posit is a case of myth-making by NewsCorp and other right leaning pundits. Post racial America - whatever that means - was not a campaign plank, promise or a goal for this administration. Though it is admirable to see that this country has matured enough in its thinking that it could elect a black man to its highest political office, it is clear that some of us aren't really ready to be lead by those we think are inferior.

In case you haven't kept up with the news, 'Fast and Furious' was begun under the Bush Administration but - to Holder's everlasting regret - was continued under Obama. Their bad.

If Hilary, had been elected would anyone posit that sexism is now over? Really? How dumb do you think we all are?

Dec. 23 2011 01:58 PM
Bill

Obama is not an African American, He is a Mulatto. Get it right. He is actually both Democrat and Repulican, Look at Obama Care, Pure Republican.
no taxation with Obaman republican all the way. If Obama is failing it's because he acting republican.

Dec. 23 2011 12:31 PM
LouiseM from North Brunswick NJ

There has *never* been a "post-racial America." Obama never said that was his role. It's only Conservatives who have argued that Obama "was supposed to lead us into a post-racial America," because it's in their interest, as defenders of the status quo, to deny how pervasive racism in this country remains.

Whenever someone points out exactly how this racism still affects the daily lives and fortunes of non-white Americans (the Countrywide steering horror, for instance) THEY are accused of racism by the Right.

I contend that the only incompetency in the DoJ's settlement with BoA is the fact that there is no restitution or cure available to those homeowners who are being foreclosed upon because they were steered into onerous mortgage terms.

Dec. 23 2011 12:16 PM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

Sponsored

About It's A Free Blog

Congress shall make no law respecting the establishment of a blog, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof.

Supported by

WNYC is supported by the Charles H. Revson Foundation: Because a great city needs an informed and engaged public.  Learn more at revsonfoundation.org.

Feeds

Supported by