Measuring Time Playlist: 9/11/11

WNYC and WQXR want to enhance the spirit of this anniversary for all of our listeners. So we created a special playlist of music of all genres suggested by listeners to mark the occasion.

Listen to the Measuring Time project on air beginning at noon, Sunday September 11, on 93.9 FM, hosted by John Schaefer of WNYC’s Soundcheck and New Sounds. The playlist is below.

You can also listen to a special Measuring Time online stream.


Fanfare for the Common Man

Simon and Garfunkle: The Boxer

Laura Nyro: Save the Country

Tom Petty: Won’t Back Down

Marvin Gaye: Mercy Mercy Me

Faure: Requiem (In Paradisum)

Radiohead: The National Anthem

Cat Stevens: The Wind

John Adams: On the Transmigration of Souls (excerpt)

Jay Z: Empire State of Mind

John Lennon: Imagine

Violeta Parra: Gracias a la Vida

Satie: Gymnopedie No. 1

Rufus Wainwright: Hallelujah

Elvis Perkins: Doomsday

U2: Bad

Samuel Barber: Adagio for Strings

Warren Zevon: Knocking on Heaven’s Door             

Nirvana: All Apologies

Patti Smith: Elegie

Aaron Copland: Quiet City

Neko Case: Alone and Foresaken

Enya: Only Time

Vaughn Williams: The Lark Ascending

Sigur Ros: Glosoli

Woody Guthrie: This Land is Your Land

Brahms: German Requiem (last movement)

Mahalia Jackson: Keep Your Hand on the Plow

Mos Def: Umi Says

James Taylor: Hard Times Come Again No More

Gorecki: Symphony No. 3 (excerpt)

Van Morrison: Real Real Gone

Paul Simon: American Tune

Dvorak: Largo from New World Symphony

Sara Maclachlan: I will Remember You

Beethoven: Symphony No. 9, last movement (excerpt)

America the Beautiful: Ray Charles

Bruce Springsteen: The Rising

> LEARN MORE about the Measuring Time project