City's Congressional Delegation Asks for Broader Federal Disaster Aid

Thursday, September 01, 2011

Nancy Zakhary and Eddie Lima of Brooklyn wade through flood waters filling the intersection of Main St and Plymouth St in Dumbo Brooklyn as Hurricane Irene reaches the New York City Area on August 28, Nancy Zakhary and Eddie Lima of Brooklyn wade through flood waters in Brooklyn on August 28, 2012. (Jemal Countess)

The city's Congressional delegation is joining Brooklyn Borough President Marty Markowitz in calling on the federal government to include Brooklyn as part of its major disaster declaration.

In a letter to President Barack Obama on Thursday, 20 members of Congress from the New York metropolitan region asked that he expand the scope of the federal major disaster declaration to include both individual and public assistance for Brooklyn and Manhattan counties.

The declaration signed by the president on Tuesday included individual assistance for eight upstate counties and public assistance to several other counties that included Manhattan, Queens, Staten Island, the Bronx — but not Brooklyn.

There is still time for counties to be added to the declaration, according to Donald Caetano, deputy director of external affairs at the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s New York office. He said the request should come from the local government to the governor’s office, which in turn should notify FEMA.

“This is not a final declaration," Caetano said. "There is a potential that there will be more add-ons. In this case, the New York City OEM would tell New York state, 'Listen we think that we’ve got areas that are not included in the original declaration that we’d like for you to come and look at, and we think there’s enough here to get individual assistance as well.'”

The city's Office of Emergency Management has not responded to a request for comment.

The eight upstate counties qualified for individual assistance are: Albany, Delaware, Dutchess, Essex, Greene, Schenectady, Schoharie, and Ulster.  Caetano says residents and businesses in those counties should call 800-621-FEMA or log on to to apply.


More in:

Comments [1]

First, minor fact check: "Brooklyn and Manhattan counties"? There is no "Brooklyn" county — not in New York, anyway. Brooklyn comprises Kings County.

Second, and more important: What possible need can Brooklyn or Manhattan possibly show? I was out for a couple of hours during Irene. There was barely any rain or wind. I understand politicians seeking to win support for their regions (well, I don't understand Republicans hostile to any and all government doing so), but to suggest that Brooklyn or Manhattan suffered is absurd. And we can't very well bill the nation for Michael Bloomberg's and Marty Markowitz's mismanagement.

Sep. 02 2011 08:09 AM

Leave a Comment

Email addresses are required but never displayed.

Get the WNYC Morning Brief in your inbox.
We'll send you our top 5 stories every day, plus breaking news and weather.


Latest Newscast




WNYC is supported by the Charles H. Revson Foundation: Because a great city needs an informed and engaged public


Supported by