New Releases, May 2011 (Special Podcast)

Email a Friend

It's that time of the month already!  John Schaefer once again picks through the spring flood of CDs that have been sent to his office to find new releases worthy of showcasing in tonight's program.  Among these outstanding piles is a new work from Roswell Rudd that features some musicians from West African and a new recording from Vieux Farka Toure, featuring his father, Ali Farka Toure. Also, hear music from a Greek group called Lüüp, and something from Montreallers, Esmerine, who just released a record in memory of Lhasa.  Plus, a collaborative record from dueling keyboardists Aaron Goldberg and Guillermo Klein, and music from a Swiss piano trio based on Turkish music.

PROGRAM #3211, New Releases May 2011 (First aired on 5/31/11)                                                       





King Creosote & Jon Hopkins

Diamond Mine

John Taylor's Month Away, excerpt  [1:00]

Domino DS38

Pat Metheny

What’s it All About

The Sound of Silence [6:33]

Nonesuch 527912
Due out June 14, 2011


Meadow Rituals

Horse Heart [6:06]

Experimedia EXPCD 015

King Creosote & Jon Hopkins

Diamond Mine

John Taylor's Month Away [6:32]

Domino DS38


La Lechuza (the owl)

A Dog River  

Constellation CST080

Colin Vallon Trio


Iskar [2:48]

ECM 2185

Aaron Goldberg and Guillermo Klein


Implacable [3:03]

Sunnyside SSC1245

Pietro Russino


Brinca/the Pink Side [5:04]
Available at

Roswell Rudd

The Incredible Honk

Ngoni Vortex [4:20]

Sunnyside SSC 1279

Vieux Farka Toure, with Ali Farka Toure

The Secret

The Secret [6:51]

Six Degrees SDR11792