Episode #2949

Death Jazz Piano Trio

« previous episode | next episode »

Sunday, August 14, 2011

For this New Sounds, London-based death-jazz band The Neil Cowley Trio stopped by the studio on their first US tour.  Listen to their incredibly tight and thoughtful originals like "His Nibs" and "She Eats Flies" performed live on this program.  It's some groove-based post-jazz with an Eastern edge that demands your attention.  RIYL: the Bad Plus, Shostakovich, Madness, thrash-punk, Thelonious Monk, The Sex Pistols, Philip Glass.

PROGRAM # 2949 The Neil Cowley Trio, live (First aired on Tues. 6/16/09)





The Neil Cowley Trio

Loud, Louder, Stop

Dinosaur Die, excerpt [1:30]

CAKE #78551

The Neil Cowley Trio

Live, WNYC

His Nibs [4:00]
Radio Silence [5:00]
How do we catch up [6:00]
She eats flies [7:30]

These performances not available.
“His Nibs” appears on their commercial release “Loud, Louder, Stop” (see above.)

“How do we catch up” and “She eats flies” are on “Displaced,” More info at

The Neil Cowley Trio

Loud, Louder, Stop

Dinosaur Die, excerpt [1:00]

See above.

The Necks

The Boys

The Boys I [4:27]


Medeski, Martin & Wood

Radiolarians I

Hidden Moon [6:43]

Indirecto Records 04,

The Necks

The Boys

He Led Them Into the World, excerpt [6:30]

See above.

News, weather, Radiolab, Brian Lehrer and more.
Get the best of WNYC in your inbox, every morning.

Leave a Comment

Register for your own account so you can vote on comments, save your favorites, and more. Learn more.
Please stay on topic, be civil, and be brief.
Email addresses are never displayed, but they are required to confirm your comments. Names are displayed with all comments. We reserve the right to edit any comments posted on this site. Please read the Comment Guidelines before posting. By leaving a comment, you agree to New York Public Radio's Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use.