Published by

NY Writer Wins PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

Email a Friend

A New York writer has won this year's PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction.

Deborah Eisenberg's collection of short stories, "The Collected Stories of Deborah Eisenberg," published by Picador in 2010, beat out more than three hundred books to win. Her 992-page collection gathers short stories from four of her books: "Transactions in a Foreign Currency," "Under the 82nd Airborne," "All Around Atlantis," and "Twilight of the Superheroes."

She is one of only six women to win the prestigious $15,000 prize. The other female writers who won it are Kate Christensen for "The Great Man" (2008), Sabina Murray for "The Caprices" (2003), Ann Patchett for "Bel Canto" (2002), Gina Berriault for "Women in Their Beds: New and Selected Stories" (1997) and Annie Proulx for "Postcards" (1993).

    Eisenberg has won, among other awards, a Guggenheim Fellowship (1987-88), the REA Award for the Short Story in 2000, and in 2009, a MacArthur "Genius" award.