Democrats Hold Senate and House Seats in Connecticut

Connecticut Attorney General Richard Blumenthal will be Connecticut's next Senator, keeping the seat in the Democratic column after Senator Christopher Dodd did not seek reelection. Republican Linda McMahon, the former CEO of World Wrestling Entertainment, spent nearly $50 million in her unsuccessful campaign.

Blumenthal received three out of five votes from women, despite McMahon's advertising aimed specifically at the demographic, according to preliminary exit polls from the Associated Press. Blumenthal's strongest support came from voters age 65 and older, while McMahon won four out of five votes from voters who identified as "conservative."

All five Democrats in Connecticut's Congressional delegation held on to their seats. Freshman Democrat Jim Himes defeated State Senator Dan Debicella in the 4th District that includes Fairfield County. In Connecticut's 5th District, incumbent Democrat Chris Murphy declared victory against state Senator Sam Caligiuri. Rep. John Larson, the 4th-ranking Democrat in the White House, will also keep his seat. Larson won his seventh term in the race against Ann Brickley, a former executive at General Electric.

Incumbent Democrat Rosa DeLauro won in the 3rd District, which includes New Haven. She will serve an 11th term after winning the race against Jerry Labriola Jr. Finally, Democratic Congressman Joe Courtney won a third term in eastern Connecticut's 2nd District, beating former television news anchor, Republican Janet Peckinpaugh. 

Though there wasn't any disruption in Democrats' hold on the delegation, election night in Connecticut did have some surprises. After several polling locations in Bridgeport ran out of ballots, a state judge ordered a dozen to remain open until 10 p.m., two hours later than polls were scheduled to close.